Privacy and Cookies Policy
Terms and Conditions

Potentiality footer


Sevenoaks School alumni have an eclectic mix of careers all over the world. 

They send rockets into space, carry out organ transplants, report from war-torn countries, make Academy Award nominated films, campaign against food waste or for equal rights, win Olympic medals, direct national security at MI5, lead battalions or global corporations and conduct groundbreaking scientific research. 

Here are just some of our noteworthy OS. 

Professor Jonathan Bate CBE: Biographer, broadcaster, novelist and scholar of Shakespeare

Professor Kenneth Cheung FRCS: Chair Professor Hong Kong University, former President of the Scoliosis Research Society 
Dr Tom Cornford: Theatre director, writer and scholar
Professor Emily Greenwood: Chair, Professor of Classics Yale University
Professor Tom McLeish FRS:
Professor of Physics at Durham University and Chair of the Royal Society’s education committee
Professor Ruth Morgan: Founder and Director of the UCL Centre for Forensic Sciences
Professor Oliver Taplin: Classicist, author and Fellow of the British Academy

Armed forces
Brigadier Jonny Bourne OBE: British Army
Air Vice-Marshal Peter Dye OBE: Director General of RAF Museum
Major James Lane MBE: British Army
Major General Charles Stickland OBE: Commandant General Royal Marines

Art, photography, design
Oliver Barratt: Sculptor
Will Burrard-Lucas: Award-winning wildlife photographer

Andrea Carter-Bowman: Fashion photographer
John Coppinger: Animatronics (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace and Return of the Jedi)
Adam Curtis: BAFTA-winning documentary film maker

Clive Farahar: Antiquarian book expert, specialist on BBC Antiques Roadshow
Thomas Heatherwick CBE: Designer
Emma Hope MBE: Shoe designer
Simon Starling: Artist. Turner Prize winner 2005

Film, theatre and television
Mick Audsley: Film editor (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Twelve Monkeys, Interview with the Vampire)
Daniel Day-Lewis: Actor
Jon Drever: Film Director (Superbob, Virunga
Brett Goldstein Actor, writer, comedian
Paul Greengrass: Film director (Captain Phillips, The Bourne Ultimatum, The Bourne Supremacy, Bloody Sunday)
Mark Hopkins: Assistant director (Anna Karenina, Wrath of the Titans)
Caroline Steinbeis: Theatre Director (The Globe, The Royal Court)
Tanya Stephan: Documentary Director (BBC, Channel 4, ITV)
Lloyd Wood: Theatre and opera director
Clive Dunn OBE: (1920-2012) Actor

Journalism, media and publishing
David Adams: Journalist and Editor
Paul Adams: BBC Diplomatic Correspondent

Simon Boughton: Publisher, Roaring Brook Press
Richard Clemmow: Television producer, former Head of BBC News
Olivia Cole: Poet and journalist. Literary editor of GQ & Editor of Spectator Life
Julia George: Radio and television presenter
Martyn Gregory: Investigative journalist, writer, television producer
Anton La Guardia: Author and journalist

Timmo Lumme: Television & marketing, International Olympic Committee
Sonny Mehta: MD of Random House
Ravi Mirchandani: Editor in Chief, Atlantic Books
Michael Prodger: Literary editor of Sunday Telegraph, art journalist
John Shields: Producer (Today, Radio 4)


Matthew Best: Conductor, singer
Andrew Gourlay: Orchestral conductor
Glen Inanga: International concert pianist
Emma Johnson MBE: International concert clarinettist
James McVinnie: Organist
Joe Stilgoe: Jazz musician
Jenni Tarma: Bassist
The Webb Sisters: Charley & Hattie Webb
Verity Quade: Singer
Anthony Zerpa-Falcon: Pianist
Public life
Owen Barder: 
Ben Baseley-Walker: United Nations

Dexter Dias QC: Human Rights Lawyer of the Year finalist and novelist
Sir Jonathan Evans KCB: Former Director-General of MI5
Stephen Hale OBE: Deputy advocacy and campaigns director, Oxfam Int, formerly government adviser

Christopher Segar: Diplomatic service, former Ambassador
Sir Jonathan Stephens KCB: Permanent Secretary of Department for Culture, Media and Sport
Tristram Stuart: Author and environmental campaigner
Ben Summerskill OBE: Former CEO of Stonewall

Clive Gregory: Bishop of Wolverhampton
Alan Wilson: Bishop of Birmingham
John Frith: (1503-1533) Protestant reformer, writer and martyr
Thomas Comber: (1645-1699) Dean of Durham and liturgist
Edward Perronet: (
1726-1792) Writer/hymn writer, minister

Christina Bassadone: Olympic sailor
Paul Campbell-James: Olympic sailor
Dan Caprice: England rugby sevens, Biarritz Olympique
Paul Downton: England cricketer, MD of England Cricket
James Graham-Brown: England cricketer

Diana Man: Paralympics commentator
Chris Tavaré: England cricketer
Andy Titterrell: England rugby international, British & Irish Lion, London Welsh
Anthony Roques: England rugby sevens
Robby Swift: Windsurfer, Youth World Champion

Ian Walker MBE: Olympic sailor and round the world yachtsman

Dr Lars Blackmore: Senior Engineer at SpaceX
Professor Mark Brouard: Head of Physical & Theoretical Chemistry at Oxford University
Sir Simon Donaldson FRS: Mathematician
Professor Francis Everitt: Astro-physicist, awarded NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal 2005
Dr Theodoros Karapiperis: Head of Science and Technology at the European Parliament
Patrick Lowe FREng: British motor racing engineer

Dr Philip Ruffles CBE FREng FRS: British aerospace engineer, former Director of Engineering and Technology at Rolls-Royce

Tom Connolly: Director and novelist. The Spider Truces shortlisted for the Writers' Guild of Great Britain Award and the Desmond Elliott Prize

Lucy Cousins: Children’s author and illustrator, creator of Maisy Mouse
Tom Edge: Film and TV writer

Charlie Higson: Comedian and novelist
Neil Powell: Biographer, poet, critic, journalist
Lloyd Shepherd: Author and journalist
Anna Wilson: Children’s author

Privacy and Cookies Policy
Terms and Conditions

Old Sennockians, Sevenoaks School, High Street, Sevenoaks, Kent TN13 1HU.
Telephone: +44 (0)1732 467708. Email: os@sevenoaksschool.org

Potentiality footer